Classification is an assessment process that separates athletes with similar levels of visual ability into groups or ‘classes’, so that participants can competed in structured sporting competitions in a fair and equitable way.

Classifications will give athletes confidence that they are competing against other equally.

When do I need to be Classified?

Depending on the level of sport you participate in, you may or may not need to be classified. If you want to compete in sport for athletes with a disability, you must undergo a sport specific classification assessment to determine your classification category.

You do not need to be classified for general or social participation.

What Levels of Classification are there?

There are 3 levels of classification:

1.      Provisional

For athletes who compete at club, school and some regional competitions and do not have access to a sport specific classification panel. Blind Sports Victoria can provide you with a provisional classification.

2.      National

For athletes that compete at State or National Championship level of all Paralympic Sports. They have been assessed by a sport specific assessment panel and hold a National Classification Card for that sport. This category also applies to students competing in State and National School Sport Championships.

3.      International

For athletes competing at International events. These athletes have their names entered on an International Classification Register for any particular sport.

What Classification Categories are there for Blind or Vision Impaired Athletes?

The International Blind Sports Association and International Paralympic Committee determine each category of classification for blind or vision impaired athletes. The classification categories are:

Class B1

Athletes classified as B1 are legally blind. They have no light perception in either eye to light perception, but an inability to recognise the shape of a hand at any distance or in any direction.

Class B2

Athletes who are classified as B2 have the ability to recognise objects up to a distance of 2 metres, i.e. below 2/60 and/or field of vision of less than five (5) degrees.

Class B3

Athletes who are classifed as B3 can recognise objects between 2 and 6 metres away (2/60 – 6/60) and/or visual field of more than five (5) degrees and less than twenty (20) degrees.

How do I get a Classification?

1.      Download and print the APC VI Provisional Classification Form 2015

2.      Book an appointment with an eye consultant or optician

3.      Take any lenses you use, even lenses you don’t use for sport and the sight classification form to your appointment

4.      Have the eye specialist or optician complete the form

5.      Send the competed form to Blind Sports Victoria

6.      We will send you your classification card within 2 weeks of receiving your completed forms

Don’t leave your classification to the last minute, if you know you are competing.

How much do I pay for my Classification to Blind Sports Victoria?

Members of Blind Sports Victoria: Free

Adult non-member of Blind Sports Victoria: $30

Junior non-member of Blind Sports Victoria: Free (includes membership to Blind Sports Victoria until 18 years of age)