About Us

Blind Sports & Recreation Victoria is recognised by Sport and Recreation Victoria as the State Sporting Association responsible for the development, promotion and support of sporting and recreational opportunities for blind and vision impaired people throughout Victoria.

Our Vision:

Victorians who are blind or vision impaired are able to lead physically active lives through participation in sport and active recreation.

Our Mission:

Educate, support, advocate and further assist the development of sport and active recreational opportunities to enhance the lives of Victorians who are blind or vision impaired.

Our Values:

  • Leadership
  • Inclusion
  • Participation
  • Collaboration
  • Respect
  • Human Rights

Our Board:

Blind Sports Victoria is governed by a Board of Management and consists of a diverse range of skills and experience to lead the governance and strategic direction of the organisation.

President - Maurice Gleeson OAM

Vice-President – Gillian Manson

Secretary - Kaye Speed

Treasurer - Jane Florindo

Committee Members

Tessa Sullivan


John Michael Landy, AC, CVO, MBE is an Australian former Olympic track athlete and Patron of Blind Sports & Recreation Victoria. He was the second man to break the four-minute mile barrier in the mile run, and he held the world records for the 1500 metre run and the mile race. Mr Landy was the 26th Governor of Victoria from 2001 to 2006.

Mr Landy is an ardent supporter of Blind Sports & Recreation Victoria to ensure all people who are blind or vision impaired are provided with the opportunity to participate in sporting and recreational activities of their choice.


Charlie Pickering is an Australian television presenter and comedian. His commitment to BSRV is to increase awareness of the many sporting and recreational activities that are available to people who are blind and vision impaired.



Left to right: Mark Frayman – Executive Member, Gillian Manson – Executive Member, Kaye Speed – Treasurer, Maurice Gleeson OAM – President, John Landy AC – Patron, Dr. Caroline van de Pol PhD – Vice President